Retaking a certification exam after failing

Updated October 10, 2026

After failing a certification exam, write down the domain breakdown before closing the screen, check your vendor’s retake wait, and spend that wait on the domains that cost you marks rather than rebooking at once. The waits range from none to 90 days depending on vendor and attempt number, and almost every vendor charges the full fee again, so a rushed second attempt is a second fee spent on the same gaps.

Example profiles, not real people. The scenarios below are illustrative planning examples built from the official exam outline. They are not reviews or reports of anyone’s result.

Retake rules by vendor

The figures below come from the renewal-and-retakes pages of each exam section on this site, which in turn cite the vendors’ own policies. Rules change, so confirm at booking.

Vendor and examWait after a failLimitFee
Microsoft role-based exams (PL-300, DP-600, DP-700)24 hours after the first fail, then 14 days between later attemptsFive attempts in 12 monthsPaid each time where a fee applies
Databricks (Data Analyst, Data Engineer)14 days between attemptsNoneSame $200, no free retakes
AWS (AIF-C01)14 calendar daysNoneFull fee each time
CompTIA (SY0-801, N10-009)None before the second attempt, 14 days before the thirdNot statedFull price each attempt
Cisco (CCNA 200-301)Five calendar daysNot stated on the pages checkedSame as original unless Exam Safeguard was bought
ISACA (AAISM)30 days from the first attempt, then 90 daysFour attempts in a rolling 12 monthsUS$459 member, US$599 non-member each time

Two things stand out. At Microsoft the first retake comes quickly, because the 14-day gap only applies from the third attempt onwards; it still costs a full fee where one applies. At CompTIA the pattern is similar, with the wait arriving before the third. And at ISACA a candidate who fails twice should assume the fourth attempt is the last of the year.

Salesforce. The Agentforce Specialist page lists a USD 100 retake fee against a USD 200 registration fee. The waiting periods it describes (24 hours, then 14 days, then the next release cycle) are reported by a community post, not confirmed from Salesforce’s own policy text, so check Pearson VUE.

What does not change the wait

Microsoft grants a waiting-period waiver only for internet or equipment failure with a Pearson VUE case number. Databricks prohibits registering under a different name or email to dodge the 14 days. Neither vendor treats “I was close” as a reason.

Fixing the gaps

1. Capture the breakdown. Microsoft shows a bar per skill area; on a two-area exam such as AI-901, a weakness has nowhere to hide. AWS warns that section-level feedback should be read with caution, so treat it as direction and not as precise measurement. The site’s Databricks pages note there is no score report detail beyond what the exam shows, which makes your own notes more valuable.

2. Compare with the weights. A domain at 30 to 35 percent that you lost deserves more of the wait than a 10 percent domain you also lost. The site’s skills outline guide explains why weights act as a study plan.

3. Keep an error log. The study method guide suggests one line per missed question: topic, why you missed it (gap, misread, rushed) and the correct reasoning. Patterns tend to show after three or four sets.

4. Re-test before rebooking. The exam day guide says that under fourteen correct on the free 20-question practice test means more study is cheaper than a retake. Aim for a steady 80 percent on realistic practice material, which is the readiness bar these guides use.

5. Diagnose misreads separately. If the knowledge was there and the marks were lost to wording, the multiple-choice tips and question types pages address that, not more content.

Check whether the outline moved

Before a retake, check that your material still matches. Several outlines change in October 2026, among them DP-600, DP-700, DP-750 and the English AB-730 and SC-200 exams, and Microsoft says localised exams follow English by roughly eight weeks. The exam changes tracker lists current versions, and an English retake booked after an update follows the new outline.

Scenario: a candidate who failed the Databricks Data Engineer Associate

This is an illustrative planning example. The candidate failed with the weakest result in the two largest sections, Data Transformation and Modeling at 22 percent and Data Ingestion and Loading at 21 percent.

Where the time goes: those two sections are 43 percent of the exam between them. The trap is to re-read everything evenly for two weeks and arrive at the retake with the same weak spots. Because there is no score report detail beyond what the exam shows, a self-made error log matters.

A reasonable planning assumption is to use the 14-day wait as two study-plan weeks of 6 to 8 hours each, 12 to 16 hours in total, with most of them on transformation and ingestion, then one full practice set under timed conditions before paying the $200 again. If that set is under 80 percent, extending the wait is cheaper than another attempt. This is a planning figure, not a promise of any result.

Where to go next

The certification costs guide shows how repeated attempts change the real price. For the language side of a failed attempt, read the English as a second language guide. Then return to the study plan or sample questions for the exam you are repeating.